Skip to main content
Media Centre

Teaching profession honoured at 2015 National Teaching Awards

By 13th March 2015May 4th, 2017No Comments

The National Teaching Awards is a Department of Basic Education initiative that acknowledges the extraordinary efforts of all teachers and also serves to reward and drive excellence amongst our country’s teachers. Novus Holdings alongside the Department of Basic Education congratulates the winners of the 2015 National Teaching Awards. Novus Holdings, formerly Paarl Media Group, is a leader in the print and manufacturing sectors. Mike Ehret_Wilhelmina Venter

In its 15th year, the awards aim to focus on the positive aspects of education and raise awareness of the importance the teaching profession has on nation building. Novus Holdings advocates delivering excellence in education and is committed to help improve the levels of education throughout the continent.

“The National Teaching Awards provide an opportunity to publicly thank the outstanding work of individuals and institutions that work tirelessly towards creating an educated generation of future leaders. As part of our investment in the future of our country Novus Holdings is proud to be a sponsor of these awards,” said Stephen Van Der Walt, CEO of Novus Holdings.

Mike Ehret, executive director for business development at Novus Holdings, on Saturday 7 March, handed over all the awards, in particular, the Excellence in Secondary School Teaching award to Ms Wilhelmina Venter from Witteberg High School in the Free State. Wilhelmina has been a teacher for 23 years and currently is an English First Additional Language teacher with a particular interest in helping troubled children.

Michelle Van Wyk won first place for the Excellence in Technology-Enhanced Teaching and Learning award from Onze Rust Primary School in the Free State. Michelle teaches grade 3 and is the only teacher at her school to incorporate ICT in the classroom, using a multi-sensory approach to lessons. She conducts training workshops to encourage her colleagues to follow suit.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Ganasen Reddy, current principal from Glenhaven Secondary School in KwaZulu-Natal. His accomplishments include authoring a textbook on biology and as a matric biology educator; he consistently achieved a pass rate of 95 to 100 percent.

The event showcased the exceptional work of educators countrywide who are testament to the bright future of education.