Board of Directors

Phumla Mnganga

Chairman and Non-Executive Director

Dr Mnganga obtained her doctorate from Wits Business School and her MBL from Unisa. She is the founder and Managing Director of Lehumo Women’s Investment Holdings, a women-owned and managed investment holding company. She also serves as a non-executive director on the listed boards of, Adcorp Holdings, the Altron Group, The SPAR Group and Crookes Brothers Limited.

Neil Birch

Chief Executive Officer

Neil holds a BSc(Hons) degree in Mechanical/Industrial Engineering from the University of Witwatersrand and entered the printing and packaging industry in 1986. He was also appointed as the group managing director of Lithotech in 1989 and went on to become the chief executive officer at Bidvest Paperplus from 2006 until 2016.

Harry Todd

Chief Financial Officer

Harry is a chartered accountant with more than 25 years’ experience in financial management. Harry has held executive financial roles in various multinational and listed environments, including senior positions at SABMiller and Astrapak Ltd.

Keshree Alwar

Group Financial Manager (Alternate Director)

Keshree, who has been with the Group since 2016, holds a BCom(Hons) in Financial Accounting and is a qualified chartered accountant. Keshree, who was previously at PwC as a senior audit manager, worked with various clients including Distell Group Limited, Remgro Group Ltd and British American Tobacco South Africa. During her time at PwC Keshree also had the opportunity to work internationally at PwC Chicago and PwC Columbus.

Dennis Mack

Independent Non-Executive Director

Dennis is a chartered accountant with a background in corporate finance and private equity investment. Having gained experience in these fields locally and in the UK, he joined Brait in 2001.  Here he worked for 16 years, serving on the Board of Brait South Africa and a number of its investee companies. Dennis is currently a non-executive director of two private technology companies.

Noluvuyo Mkhondo

Non-Independent Non-Executive Director

Noluvuyo is a seasoned investment banking and corporate finance professional, with extensive experience in Merger and Acquisition execution, investment evaluation and strategic long term financial planning. She has a Bachelor of Accountancy degree from Wits University, and an MBA from London Business School. She also serves as an executive director of Value Capital Partners.

Manie Mayman

Independent Non-Executive Director

Manie is a Chartered Accountant who holds BCompt Hons and BCom Hons (Financial Management) degrees, with more than 45 years of working experience in auditing, accounting, taxation, corporate finance and strategic planning of which the last 25 years have been at executive level in companies such as BP, Media24 and the Oasis Group. Manie previously served on the Group’s Board from 2014 until his resignation in 2017 due to his retirement as CFO of Media24.

Lulama Mtanga

Independent Non-Executive Director

With a BA (Social Sciences), Postgraduate Diploma in European Community Competition Law, and a LLB, Lulama is a director at Lulama Mtanga Legal Consultancy and a former director at Bowman Gilfillan Inc. She has extensive experience in advising on notification of local and international transactions under the Competition Act in South Africa in various sectors. She was the first lawyer at Bowman Gilfillan Inc. and one of the first lawyers in South Africa to advise on cross-border competition law merger regulations in the African continent.

Sandile Zungu

Independent Non-Executive Director

Sandile is a non-executive director of, among others, Grindrod Limited, EOH and Innovation Group. He serves on the Presidential BEE Advisory Council and represented South Africa on the BRICS Business Council. Sandile was a member of the World Economic Forum in his capacity as Young Global Leader. A few of the notable positions he has previously held include chairman of Barnard Jacobs Mellet Holdings and Denel, and executive director of New Africa Investments.

Melonie Brink

Group Company Secretary

Melonie, who holds a BA (Law) and LLB joined Novus Holdings in October 2018 as Group Company Secretary. Melonie has +20 years experience of corporate legal, compliance, regulatory and governance related functions associated with a State Owned Enterprise as well as prominent listed companies. Previously, Melonie was Assistant Company Secretary at Woolworths Holdings, and held similar roles at Communicare, Engen, MTN Group and Clicks. Her responsibilities included oversight of corporate governance, compliance, legal and ethics.