11 Western Cape-based matric learners have been awarded bursaries to the value of R660 000 to help finance their tertiary education in 2019, thanks to the Paarl Media Bursary Fund Trust, supported by Novus Holdings, one of South Africa’s largest commercial printing and manufacturing Groups. The qualifying learners were honoured at a ceremony hosted by the Paarl Media Bursary Fund Trust in Paarl on Wednesday, 14 November.

Since its inception in 2008, the Trust has awarded more than 100 bursaries valued in excess of R11 million.

“The Trust aims to create opportunities for learners who are hard-working and committed to working towards a brighter future. The successful learners have shown exemplary dedication to their studies,” says Peter Metcalfe, Group Executive: Sales and Marketing Novus Holdings.

Hailing from schools across the Western Cape, the learners will be pursuing qualifications in the fields of education, accounting, agriculture and engineering at prominent Western Cape institutions such as the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, University of Stellenbosch, University of Western Cape and Embury Institute of Higher Education.

The successful bursary winners are:

Bursary Trust Recipient School 2019 Course Institution
Bevan Adams Klein Nederburg Secondary School, Paarl B.Ed Senior Phase and FET Teaching Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Corne Burger Laborie High School, Paarl BEng (Chemical) University of Stellenbosch
Kelly Carlse Laborie High School, Paarl B.Ed Intermediate Phase Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Shenay Govender Embury Institute of Higher Education B.Ed Foundation Phase Embury Institute of Higher Education
Jessica Hillier Fairmont High School, Durbanville BA Language and Culture University of Stellenbosch
Shannon Klaasen Franschhoek High School, Franschhoek BSc Medical Bioscience University of Western Cape
Amicke Mostert Paarl Girls’ High School, Paarl BCom Management Accounting University of Stellenbosch
Kyle Olsen Huguenot High School, Wellington B.Ed Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Jada Phillips Belhar High School, Belhar B.Ed University of Western Cape
Jessey Sasman Cape Peninsula University of Technology B.Ed Foundation Phase Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Luan van Wyk University of Stellenbosch BSc Agric (Animal Science) University of Stellenbosch

Successful candidates had to apply and meet certain requirements in order to qualify, such as: be from a financially disadvantaged background, have leadership attributes, demonstrate community involvement and hold a commendable academic school record. Bursaries are open to those who meet these requirements.

“The bursary award winners are selected following a rigorous process. We are certain that they will do us proud as they embark on this new chapter in their lives,” says Metcalfe.

The Trust was started by the Retief family in the Western Cape in 2008, with an initial investment sum of R10 million. The Retief family built up Paarl Media – today known as Novus Holdings – into a successful business. Today, bursaries are awarded from the investment returns and are run by independent trustees. Novus Holdings supports the Trust by providing resources to facilitate and manage the administration and processing of the bursaries each year.

“We congratulate the recipients and wish them well on their journey towards becoming tomorrow’s leaders,” concludes Metcalfe.