Skip to main content
Media Centre

Finalists for the 2014 Eco-Logic Awards announced

By 4th September 2014May 4th, 2017No Comments

Paarl Media is pleased to be a finalist in the Energy Saving Award category.

The 2014 Eco-Logic Awards finalists have been selected. These awards, hosted by The Enviropaedia in association with SABC 3, identify and give recognition to individuals, organisations, products and services that are making a real and measurable difference in creating a more sustainable world to live in. After a national call for entries, the following finalists have been selected:

The Water Conservation Award (Sponsored by TCTA)

  • Woolworths
  • WESSA – Eco-Schools Programme
  • EcoPools

The Recycling Award (Sponsored by Collect a Can)

  • Wattville Ithuseng Recycling Co-op Ltd.
  • Plastics SA
  • Vineyard Hotel
  • Bay Harbour Market

The Eco-Community Award (Sponsored by SABC3)

  • Princess Vlei Forum
  • Msobomvu Community ( supported by Project 90×2030)
  • Greenpop
  • Miss Earth South Africa – Public Awareness campaign

The Transport Award

  • Bicycling Empowerment Network (BEN )
  • Findalift
  • City of Johannesburg-  Rea-Vaya Bus Rapid Transit
  • Blendwell Chemicals

The Climate Change Awards (Sponsored by the Department of Environmental Affairs)

  • Credible Carbon
  • Pick n Pay
  • Food and Trees for Africa
  • Standard Bank

The Biodiversity Award (Sponsored by Exxaro)

  • EWT- National Biodiversity and Business Network Programme
  • Botanical Society – Custodians of Rare and Endangered Wildflowers (CREW) Programme
  • North Durban Honorary Rangers
  • WESSA Blue Flag Programme

The Municipalities Award (Sponsored by Santam)

  • eThekwini Municipality – DSW
  • Mossel Bay
  • City of Johannesburg
  • City of Cape Town

The Eco-Youth Award (Sponsored by Pick ‘n Pay – climate change)

  • Blake Anthony Combrink
  • John Lucas
  • Joshua Nunn
  • Malukhanye Steven Mbopha

The Eco-Angel Award (Sponsored by ACSA)

  • Annie Beckhelling
  • Joe Matimba
  • Zaitoon Ranabey
  • Kerryn Morrison

The Energy Saving Award (Sponsored by NBI)

  • Growthpoint Properties
  • Paarl Media
  • Hotel Verde
  • The Lightie

The Eco-Innovation Award (Sponsored by Breathecoat)

  • Afrisam
  • Shark Spotters
  • Touching the Earth Lightly
  • Ecospecifier

The Eco-Warrior Award

  • Kelvin Cochraine
  • Karen Allen
  • Catherine Constantinides
  • Quinton Martins

Each entry was judged against the seven Eco-Logic principles namely; care for the earth, long-term thinking, holistic thinking, emotional and intuitive intelligence, ubuntu, quality-based (meta-physical) values and innovation.

David Parry-Davis, Publishing Editor of The Enviropaedia and co-host of the Eco-Logic Awards, says: “The quality of the Eco-Logic Award entries this year is diverse and inspirational. We received a record number of entries from a diverse suite of projects, organisations and individuals, including big business, municipalities, NGOs, communities, SMEs and pressure groups. They reflect the amazing work that is being done across the country, and left me inspired and optimistic for the future.”

The 2014 Eco-Logic Award winners will be announced at Maropeng (Cradle of Humankind South Africa) World Heritage site in Gauteng on the 17th September 2014. For more information on The Enviropaedia and the Eco-Logic Awards please, find us on Facebook: and follow us on Twitter: @Enviropaedia and @EcoLogicAwards or contact Linda Baker on 0861 000 810/

Enviropaedia and Eco-Logic Awards:

Established in 2000, The Enviropaedia was one of South Africa’s very first ‘green’ publications and directories that are dedicated to educating and motivating individuals and businesses to live and work in a more socially and environmentally, sustainable manner.This is achieved through four focal areas: Networking, Knowledge building, Creating Bridges of Co-operation and the ‘Ethical Consumer Campaign’. The Enviropaedia book is supported by an online version and a lifestyle The Eco-Logic Awards was launched in 2011 to identify and give recognition to those individuals, organisations, products and services that are making a real and measurable difference in creating a more sustainable world to live in.